Indonesia Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa required
Australian Yes Yes No
British Yes Yes No
Canadian Yes Yes No
EU Yes Yes No
USA Yes Yes No

Do you need a Visa?

Our preferred partner VisaCentral can make applying for one fast and easy.

Apply for one now! Preferred suppliers of Visas and Passports by World Travel Guide

To enter Indonesia, a passport valid for at least six months from the date of entry is required by all nationals referred to in the chart above.


Altogether nationals from 169 countries, including nationals referred to in the chart above, do not need an Indonesian tourist visa for stays up to 30 days.

The complete list of visa exemption countries is as follows: Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, China, Comoros, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Macao, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Nationals from 61 countries can apply for an Indonesian tourist visa on arrival. Please check the immigration site (

Visa note

An onward ticket is required.

Please note that if you enter Indonesia visa-free, you cannot stay beyond 30 days. For longer stays, you must apply for a visa in advance or on arrival. Nationals from these 61 countries can apply for an extension on arrival: Algeria, Australia, Argentina, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, Maldives, Monaco, Mexico, New Zealand, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Taiwan, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America.

Overstaying with a proper visa is a serious matter. From 2019, visitors who out-stay their visa will be fined IDR 1,000,000 per day. Visitors staying longer than 60 days risk hefty fines and may face deportation and will not be able to enter Indonesia for a certain period.

Types and cost

Visa-free stamp (30 days and cannot be extended): free for nationals of 169 countries.

Visa on arrival (30 days and can be extended for another 30 days): IDR 500,000 or US$35.

Social, tourist or cultural visa B-211 (60 days and can be extended three times for 30 days each): IDR 1,250,000.

Multiple-entry visa (up to 60 days per visit with a 12-month validity): IDR 3,000,000.


Visa on arrival: 30 days; B-211 (social, tourist or cultural) visa: 60 days; Multiple-entry visa: one year.

Application to

Either on arrival at a designated port of entry or in advance at the consulate (or consular section of embassy).

Temporary residence

For visits of up to one year, you must apply to the nearest Indonesian Embassy for a temporary stay permit.

Working days

If you apply in advance, visa processing usually two to 15 days from receipt, but it can take up to two months for nationals whose applications need to be referred to the Immigration Office in Indonesia.

Extension of stay

Visa on arrival (30 days and can be extended for another 30 days): IDR 500,000 or US$35.

Embassies and tourist offices

British Embassy in Indonesia
Telephone: +62 21 2356 5200 Website: Opening times: Mon-Thu 0730-1600; Fri 0730-1300.
Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia in the USA
Telephone: +1 202 775 5200 Website: Opening times: Mon-Fri: 0900-1700
Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia in the UK
Telephone: +44 20 7499 7661 Website: Opening times: Application submission only: Mon-Thu 0930-1230; Fri 0930-1200 Collection only: Mon-Fri 1430-1600.

Do you need a Visa?

Our preferred partner VisaCentral can make applying for one fast and easy.

With more than 50 years experience CIBT and its subsidiary VisaCentral have become the largest and most well-established travel visa and passport company in the world.

CIBT and its subsidiary VisaCentral has the tools, experience, and global network necessary to effectively reduce the time associated with obtaining travel documents and legalisations.

VisaCentral offer:

  • Unmatched Speed.
  • Full Line of Services.
  • Proprietary Database.
  • Travel Visa and Passport Specialists.
  • Secure Process.
  • Real-time Order Tracking.
dummy banner image
Visa and passport information is updated regularly and is correct at the time of publishing. You should verify critical travel information independently with the relevant embassy before you travel.