United Kingdom Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa required
Australian Yes No No
British N/A N/A N/A
Canadian Yes No No
EU Yes No No
USA Yes No No

Do you need a Visa?

Our preferred partner VisaCentral can make applying for one fast and easy.

Apply for one now! Preferred suppliers of Visas and Passports by World Travel Guide

The United Kingdom is not a member of the European Union (EU), but it has a long-standing Common Travel Area agreement with Ireland. This means that citizens of the UK and Ireland, along with the Crown Dependencies (the Isle of Man, Bailiwick of Jersey and Bailiwick of Guernsey) can live, work or study in any of the participating countries without restrictions.

To enter the United Kingdom, a passport valid for the duration of stay is required by all nationals.

Nationals from the following countries can use eGates at various airports and railway stations to enter the UK quickly and securely: British, all EU nationals, nationals from Australia, Canada, Iceland, Japan, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland and the United States of America. Those who use the eGates must have a passport with a biometric symbol on the cover of your passport and are aged 12 or over. Those who are 12-17 years old must be accompanied by an adult.


Nationals of countries/territories who need a visa to enter the UK: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain*, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China*, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Republic of), Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Eswatini (Swaziland), Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia*, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait*, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Northern Cyprus (the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus), Oman*, Pakistan, Palestine Territories, Peru, Philippines, Qatar*, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa*, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria*, Taiwan*, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey*, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates*, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam*, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

• Bahrain: holders of diplomatic and special passports are exempted.
• China: holders of diplomatic passports and those who travel with a serving Chinese government minister on an official visit are exempted.
• Indonesia, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam: Holders of diplomatic passports do not require a visa for official visits, tourist visits or transit.
• Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, UAE: Holders of diplomatic and special passports do not require a visa for official visits, tourist visits or transit. Holders of ordinary passports do not require a visa if they hold a valid electronic visa waiver (EVW) document.
• Taiwan: Passports with a personal ID number on the biodata page are exempted.
• Syria: Holders may not use a USA visa (B1/B2) to transit through the UK.

Nationals of countries/territories who do not need a visa to enter the UK: All EU countries, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Micronesia, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Vatican City.

Visa note

Visa rules are subject to change. For up-to-date information, please see www.gov.uk/check-uk-visa.

Types and cost

There are various types of visa, including but not limited to:
• Airside transit: £35
• Other transits: £64
• Short-term (single or multiple-entry, up to six months): £100
• Long-term (up to two years): £376
• Long-term (up to five years): £670


See above


Some nationals can transit in the UK 'airside' without a visa if they arrive and depart by air, have a confirmed onward flight departing the same day from the same airport, and hold the correct documents for their destination. However, other nationals are subject to more rules. Please check www.gov.uk/check-uk-visa before transiting in the UK.

Application to

Contact the embassy, high commission or consulate.

Schengen visas

The United Kingdom is not part of the Schengen area so the Schengen visa scheme does not apply.

Working days

The length of time taken to process visa applications depends on the nationality of the applicant and the country where you're applying. Beware that the earliest you can apply is three months before you travel.

Sufficient funds

All applicants are expected to provide information about your finances.

Extension of stay

See the UK government website www.gov.uk/standard-visitor-visa.

Entry with pets

See the UK government website www.gov.uk/bring-pet-to-uk.

Embassies and tourist offices

Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7008 1500 (consular assistance). Website: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/foreign-commonwealth-office Opening times: Mon-Fri 0800-1700.
British Embassy in the USA
Telephone: +1 202 588 6500 Website: https://www.gov.uk/world/organisations/british-embassy-washington Opening times: By appointment only. Mon-Fri 0900-1600 (telephone enquiries).

Do you need a Visa?

Our preferred partner VisaCentral can make applying for one fast and easy.

With more than 50 years experience CIBT and its subsidiary VisaCentral have become the largest and most well-established travel visa and passport company in the world.

CIBT and its subsidiary VisaCentral has the tools, experience, and global network necessary to effectively reduce the time associated with obtaining travel documents and legalisations.

VisaCentral offer:

  • Unmatched Speed.
  • Full Line of Services.
  • Proprietary Database.
  • Travel Visa and Passport Specialists.
  • Secure Process.
  • Real-time Order Tracking.

Visa and passport information is updated regularly and is correct at the time of publishing. You should verify critical travel information independently with the relevant embassy before you travel.